Fixing the Oscars – 1976

Best Picture – English Language

WINNER! Taxi Driver (original nominee)

– All the President’s Men (original nominee)
– Harlan County USA (original winner: Best Documentary Feature)
– The Killing of a Chinese Bookie
– Carrie
– Rocky (original winner)

Best Picture – Non-English Language

WINNER! 1900

– Seven Beauties (original nominee)
– In the Realm of the Senses
– Monsieur Klein
– Jonah Who Will Be 25 in the Year 2000

Best Actor

WINNER! Robert De Niro (Taxi Driver) (original nominee)

– Ben Gazzara (The Killing of a Chinese Bookie)
– Cliff Robertson (Obsession)
– Giancarlo Giannini (Seven Beauties) (original nominee)
– John Wayne (The Shootist)

Best Actress

WINNERS! Geneviève Bujold (Obsession)
Liv Ullmann (Face to Face) (original nominee)

– Sissy Spacek (Carrie) (original nominee)
– Faye Dunaway (Network) (original winner)
– Eiko Matsuda (In the Realm of the Senses)
– Barbara Harris (Family Plot)

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER! Laurence Olivier (Marathon Man) (original nominee)

– Chief Dan George (The Outlaw Josey Wales)
– Richard Boone (The Shootist)
– Jason Robards (All the President’s Men) (original winner)
– Donald Sutherland (1900)
– Zero Mostel (The Front)

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER! Piper Laurie (Carrie) (original nominee)

– Jodie Foster (Taxi Driver) (original nominee)
– Dominique Sanda (1900)
– Jane Alexander (All the President’s Men) (original nominee)
– Beatrice Straight (Network) (original winner)
– Candy Clark (The Man Who Fell to Earth)

Best Director

WINNERS! Brian DePalma (Carrie)
Martin Scorsese (Taxi Driver)

– Alan J. Pakula (All the President’s Men) (original nominee)
– Lina Wertmüller (Seven Beauties) (original nominee)
– Bernardo Bertolucci (1900)
– Nagisa Oshima (In the Realm of the Senses)

Best Original Musical Score – Comedy/Drama

WINNER! Bernard Herrmann (Taxi Driver) (original nominee)

– Bernard Herrmann (Obsession) (original nominee)
– Bill Conti (Rocky)
– Jerry Goldsmith (The Omen) (original winner)
– Paul Dinaggio (Carrie)
– Ennio Morricone (1900)

Best Cinematography

WINNER! Michael Chapman (Taxi Driver)

– Gordon Willis (All the President’s Men)
– Haskell Wexler (Bound for Glory) (original winner)
– Vittorio Storaro (1900)
– Vilmos Zsigmond (Obsession)

Best Screenplay

WINNER! Paddy Chayefsky (Network) (original winner – Best Original Screenplay)

– William Goldman (All the President’s Men)(original winner – Best Adapted Screeplay)
– Paul Schrader (Taxi Driver)
– Lina Wertmüller (Seven Beauties) (original nominee)
– Joseph Losey, Fernando Morandi, and Franco Solinas (Monsieur Klein)
– Sylvester Stallone (Rocky) (original nominee)
– John Berger and Alain Tanner (Jonah Who Will Be 25 in the Year 2000) (new nominee)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: