Fixing The Oscars – 2002

Best Picture (foreign-language)

(winner!) City of God (Cidade de Deus)

– Talk to Her (Hable con ella)
– Dolls
– The Man Without a Past (Mies vailla menneisyyttä)
– Hero (Ying xiong)
– The Son (Le fils)

Best Picture (English-language)

(winner!) The Hours

– The Pianist
– Chicago
– Sweet Sixteen
– Rabbit-Proof Fence

Best Actor

(winner!) Adrien Brody (The Pianist)

– Martin Compston (Sweet Sixteen)
– Michael Caine (The Quiet American)
– Olivier Gourmet (The Son)
– Campbell Scott (Roger Dodger)

Best Actress

(winner!) Renee Zellweger (Chicago)

– Julianne Moore (Far from Heaven)
– Salma Hayek (Frida)
– Keisha Castle-Hughes (Whale Rider)
– Nicole Kidman (The Hours)

Best Supporting Actor

– Daniel Day-Lewis (Gangs of New York)

– John C. Reilly (Chicago)
– Alfred Molina (Frida)
– Chris Cooper (Adaptation)
– Brendan Fraser (The Quiet American)
– Paul Newman (Road to Perdition)
– Dennis Quaid (Far from Heaven)

Best Supporting Actress

(winner!) Catherine Zeta-Jones (Chicago)

– Julianne Moore (The Hours)
– Isabelle Huppert (8 Women)
– Queen Latifah (Chicago)
– Danielle Darrieux (8 Women)
– Geraldine McEwan (The Magdalene Sisters)
– Miranda Richardson (Spider)
– Emily Watson (Punch-Drunk Love)

Best Director

(winner!) Roman Polanski (The Pianist)

– Fernando Meirelles (City of God)
– Pedro Almodóvar (Talk to Her)
– Stephen Daldry (The Hours)
– Martin Scorsese (Gangs of New York)

Best Cinematography

(winner!) Katsumi Yanagishima (Dolls)

– Christopher Doyle (Hero)
– Conrad L. Hall (Road to Perdition)
– César Charlone (City of God)
– Pawel Edelman (The Pianist)

Best Adapted Screenplay

(winner!) David Hare (The Hours, from the novel by Michael Cunningham)

– Bráulio Mantovani (City of God, from the novel Cidade de Deus by Paulo Lins)
– Peter Hedges, Chris Weitz & Paul Weitz (About a Boy, from the novel by Nick Hornby)
– Charlie Kaufman & Donald Kaufman (Adaptation, from the book The Orchid Thief by Susan Orlean)
– Ronald Harwood (The Pianist, from the memoir Smierc Miasta by Wladyslaw Szpilman)

Best Original Screenplay

(winner!) – Pedro Almodóvar (Talk to Her)

– Peter Mullan (The Magdalene Sisters)
– Steven Knight (Dirty Pretty Things)
– Siu Fai Mak & Felix Chong (Infernal Affairs)
– Paul Laverty (Sweet Sixteen)


Best Original Music Score

(winner!) Philip Glass (The Hours)

– Elmer Bernstein (Far from Heaven)
– John Williams (Catch Me If You Can)
– Thomas Newman (Road to Perdition)
– Peter Gabriel (Rabbit-Proof Fence)
– Alberto Iglesias (Talk to Her)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

(winner!) Paul Bogaev & Maureen Crowe & David Krane (Chicago)

– Liz Gallacher & Martin Moscrop (24 Hour Party People)
– Bruno Fontaine & Edouard Dubois (8 Women)
– Ismail Darbar & Birju Maharaj & Monty (Devdas)
– Olli Kykkänen (The Man Without a Past)
– A.R. Rahman (A Peck on the Cheek)

Best Original Song

Winner! “Lose Yourself”, Eminem, Jeff Bass & Luis Resto (8 Mile)

– “The Hands That Built America”, U2 (Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton & Larry Mullen Jr.) (Gangs of New York)
– “Here to Stay”, New Order (Gillian Gilbert, Peter Hook, Stephen Morris & Bernard Sumner) (24 Hour Party People)
– “Something to Talk About”, Damon Gough (About a Boy)
– “Burn It Blue”, Elliot Goldenthal & Julie Taymor (Frida)

Best Sound

(winner!) The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

– Road to Perdition
– Gangs of New York
– The Pianist
– Spider-Man


Best Film Editing

(winner!) Daniel Rezende (City of God)

– Martin Walsh (Chicago)
– Peter Boyle (The Hours)
– Curran Pang & Danny Pang (Infernal Affairs)
– Yana Gorskaya (Spellbound)
– Sang-Beom Kim (Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance)

Best Art Direction

(winner!) Alessandro Alberti & Maria-Teresa Barbasso & Dimitri Capuani & Nazzareno Piana & Luca Tranchino (Gangs of New York)

– Peter Joe Bleakley & Phil Ivey & Rob Outterside & Mark Robins (The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers)
– Norihiro Isoda (Dolls)
– Andrew M. Stearn (Chicago)
– Richard L. Johnson (Road to Perdition)

Best Costume Design

(winner!) – Colleen Atwood (Chicago)

– Emi Wada (Hero)
– Maria Grishanova & Lidiya Kryukova & Tamara Seferyan (Russian Ark)
– Mary Zophres (Catch Me If You Can)
– Sandy Powell (Gangs of New York)

Best Special Effects

(winner!) – The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

– Minority Report
– Dark Water
– Spider-Man
– 28 Days Later…


Best Short Film

(winner!) – Strange Invaders

– The ChubbChubbs!
– Cathedral (Katedra)
– I’ll Wait for the Next One
– Squash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: