Fixing the Oscars – 1968

Best Picture in Another Language

Once Upon a Time in the West WINNER!

– Teorema
– Shame
– War and Peace (original winner)
– Hour of the Wolf
– The Color of Pomagranates

Best Picture in the English Language

2001: A Space Odyssey WINNER!

– Night of the Living Dead
– Rosemary’s Baby
– If…
– Oliver! (original winner)

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Alan Arkin (The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter) WINNER! (original nominee)

– Vincent Price (Matthew Hopkins: Witchfinder General)
– Max von Sydow (Shame)
– Peter O’Toole (The Lion in Winter) (original nominee)
– Anthony Perkins (Pretty Poison)
– Ron Moody (Oliver!) (original nominee)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Mia Farrow (Rosemary’s Baby) WINNER!

– Barbra Streisand (Funny Girl) (original winner)
– Claudia Cardinale (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Katharine Hepburn (The Lion in Winter) (original winner)
– Tuesday Weld (Pretty Poison)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

John McEnery (Romeo and Juliet) WINNER!

– Henry Fonda (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Chuck McCann (The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter)
– Jason Robards (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Gunnar Bjornstrand (Shame)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Ruth Gordon (Rosemary’s Baby) WINNER! (original winner)

– Pat Heywood (Romeo and Juliet) (33) (new nominee)
– Sondra Locke (The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter) (original nominee)
– Shani Wallis (Oliver!)
– Delphine Seyrig (Stolen Kisses)

Best Director

Stanley Kubrick (2001: A Space Odyssey) WINNER! (original nominee)

– Sergio Leone (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Roman Polanski (Rosemary’s Baby)
– George A. Romero (Night of the Living Dead)
– Pier Paolo Pasolini (Teorema)

Best Cinematography

Geoffrey Unsworth (2001: A Space Odyssey) WINNER!

– Tonino Delli Colli (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Sven Nykvist (Hour of the Wolf)
– Raoul Coutard (The Bride Wore Black)
– Pasqualino De Santis (Romeo and Juliet) (original winner)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Roman Polanski (Rosemary’s Baby, from the novel by Ira Levin) WINNER!

– Stanley Kubrick, Arthur C. Clarke (2001: A Space Odyssey, from the story “The Sentinel” by Clarke)
– James Goldman (The Lion in Winter, from the play by Goldman)
– Michael Wilson, Rod Serling (Planet of the Apes, from the novel La Planète des singes by Pierre Boulle)
– Sergei Bondarchuk, Vasili Solovyov (War and Peace, from the novel Vojna i mir by Leo Tolstoy)

Best Original Screenplay

Mel Brooks (The Producers) WINNER!

– Dario Argento, Bernardo Bertolucci, Sergio Leone, Sergio Donati (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Ingmar Bergman (Shame)
– George A. Romero, John A. Russo (Night of the Living Dead)
– Leonid Gaidai, Yakov Kostyukovsky, Moris Slobodskoy (The Diamond Arm)

Original Underscore

Winner: Ennio Morricone (Once Upon A Time in the West)

– Nino Rota (Romeo And Juliet)
– Jerry Goldsmith (Planet Of The Apes)
– John Barry (The Lion In Winter)
– Bernard Herrmann (The Bride Wore Black)


Winner: Michel Legrand, Alan & Marilyn Bergman Windmills Of Your Mind (Thomas Crown Affair)

– John Lennon & Paul McCartney Hey Bulldog (Yellow Submarine)
– Mel Brooks Springtime For Hitler (The Producers)
-Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil Shape Of Things To Come (Wild In The Streets)
– John Lennon & Paul McCartney All Together Now (Yellow Submarine)

Song Score/Musical Scoring/Adaptation

Tower Records (2001 A Space Odyssey)

– The Beatles (Yellow Submarine)
– John Green, Eric Rogers, Dusty Buck, Ray Holder (Oliver!)
– Walter Scharf, Jack Hayes, Leo Shuken, Herbert Spencer, Betty Walberg (Funny Girl)
– Lennie Hayton( Star!)

Best Film Editing

WINNER: Ray Lovejoy (2001: A Space Odessey)

– Frank P. Keller (Bullit)
– Nino Baragli (Once Upon a Time in the West)
– Nina Schulman (Monterey Pop)
– George Romero (The Night of the Living Dead)

Best Art Direction

WINNER: Ernest Archer, Harry Lange, Anthony Masters & John Hoesli (2001: A Space Odessey)

– Lorenzo Mongiardino, Emilio Carcano, Luciano Puccini (Romeo and Juliet)
– John Box, Terence Marsh, Vernon Dixon, Ken Muggleston (Oliver!)
– Mario Garbuglia, Umberto Campagna, Jean-Claude Forest, (Barbarella)
– William J. Creber, Jack Martin Smith, Norman Rockett & Walter M. Scott (Planet of the Apes)

Best Costume Design

WINNER: Danilo Donati (Romeo and Juliet)

– Morton Haack (Planet of the Apes)
– Paco Rabanne, Jacques Fonteray (Barbarella)
– Hardy Amies (2001: A Space Odessey)
– Irene Sharaff (Funny Girl)
– Margaret Furse (The Lion in Winter)

Best Short

De Düva: The Dove WINNER! (original nominee live-action short) tied with
Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day WINNER! (original winner animated short)

– Why Man Creates (original winner live-action short)
– Pas de deux (original nominee live-action short)
– Robert Kennedy Remembered (original winner documentary short)
– Sirene

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: