Fixing the Oscars – 1964

Best Picture: English Language

THE WINNER: Dr. Strangelove or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (original nominee)

– Mary Poppins (original nominee)
– My Fair Lady (original winner)
– A Hard Day’s Night
– Goldfinger

Best Picture: Non-English Language

THE WINNER: Woman in the Dunes (original nominee)

– The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (original nominee)
– I Am Cuba
– The Red Desert
– Onibaba
– Kwaidan (original nominee)

Best Actor

THE WINNER: Peter Sellers (Dr. Strangelove) (original nominee)

– Dick Van Dyke (Mary Poppins)
– Rod Steiger (The Pawnbroker) (original nominee)
– Anthony Quinn (Zorba the Greek) (original nominee)
– Rex Harrison (My Fair Lady) (original winner)

Best Actress

THE WINNER: Julie Andrews (Mary Poppins) (original winner)

– Tippi Hedren (Marnie)
– Kyoko Kishida (Woman in the Dunes)
– Kim Stanley (Seance on a Wet Afternoon) (original nominee)
– Constance Towers (The Naked Kiss)

Best Supporting Actor

THE WINNER: George C. Scott (Dr. Strangelove)

– David Tomlinson (Many Poppins)
– Stanley Holloway (My Fair Lady) (original nominee)
– Peter Sellers (The Pink Panther)
– Gert Frobe (assist from Michael Collins) (Goldfinger)

Best Supporting Actress

THE WINNER: Lila Kedrova (Zorba the Greek) (original winner)

– Agnes Moorehead (Hush… Hush, Sweet Charlotte)(original nominee)
– Glynis Johns (Mary Poppins)
– Honor Blackman (Goldfinger)
– Diane Baker (Marnie)
– Capucine (The Pink Panther)

Best Director

THE WINNER: Stanley Kubrick (Dr. Strangelove) (original nominee)

– Robert Stevenson (Mary Poppins) (original nominee)
– Richard Lester (A Hard Day’s Night)
– Jacques Demy (The Umbrellas of Cherbourg)
– Samuel Fuller (The Naked Kiss)

Best Screenplay

THE WINNER: Stanley Kubrick, Peter George, Terry Southern (Dr. Strangelove) (original nominee)

– Bill Walsh, Don DaGradi (Mary Poppins) (original nominee)
– Alun Owen (A Hard Day’s Night) (original nominee)
– Samuel Fuller (The Naked Kiss)
– Richard Maibaum, Paul Dehn (Goldfinger)

Best Cinematography: Color

THE WINNER: Jean Rabier (The Umbrellas of Cherbourg)

– Yoshio Miyajima (Kwaidan)
– Harry Stradling, Sr. (My Fair Lady) (original winner)
– Edward Colman (Mary Poppins) (original nominee)
– Nicholas Roeg (Masque of Red Death)
– Robert Burks (Marnie)

Best Cinematography: B&W

THE WINNER: Sergei Urusevsky (I Am Cuba)

– Hiroshi Segawa (Woman in the Dunes)
– Gilbert Taylor (A Hard Day’s Night)
– Joseph F. Biroc (Hush… Hush, Sweet Charlotte) (original nominee)
– Walter Lassally (Zorba the Greek) (original winner)
– Kiyomi Kuroda (Onibaba)
– Gilbert Taylor (Dr. Strangelove)

Best Music, Scoring of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture

THE WINNER: Henry Mancini (The Pink Panther) (original nominee) THE WINNER: John Barry (Goldfinger)

– Bernard Herrmann (Marnie) (original nominee)
– Ennio Morricone (A Fistful of Dollars)
– Akira Ifukube (Ghidrah, the Three-Headed Monster)
– Frank De Vol (Hush… Hush, Sweet Charlotte)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: