Fixing The Oscars 2.0 – 1932

Best Picture, English Language

Poster - Trouble in Paradise_01

Trouble in Paradise (winner!)

– Freaks
– Grand Hotel
– Love Me Tonight
– I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang

Best Picture, Non-English Language

I Was Born, But… (winner!)

– Boudu Saved from Drowning
– Fanny
– Vampyr
– Poil de Carotte

Best Actor

Paul Muni (I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang) (winner!)

– Paul Muni (Scarface)
– Boris Karloff (The Mummy)
– Herbert Marshall (Trouble in Paradise)
– Michel Simon (Boudu Saved from Drowning)
– William Powell (One Way Passage)

Best Actress

Greta Garbo (Grand Hotel) (winner!)

– Ann Dvorak (Scarface)
– Marlene Dietrich (Shanghai Express)
– Marlene Dietrich (Blonde Venus)
– Kay Francis (Trouble in Paradise)
– Miriam Hopkins (Trouble in Paradise)

Best Supporting Actor

Tatsuo Saito (I Was Born, But…) (winner!)

– Raimu (Fanny)
– Harpo Marx (Horse Feathers)
– George Raft (Scarface)
– John Barrymore (Grand Hotel)
– Ernest Thesiger (The Old Dark House)

Best Supporting Actress

Olga Baclanova (Freaks) (winner!)

– Joan Crawford (Grand Hotel)
– Anna Mae Wong (Shanghai Express)
– Mitsuko Yoshikawa (I Was Born, But…)
– Bette Davis (The Cabin in the Cotton)
– Eva Moore (The Old Dark House)

Best Director

Yasujiro Ozu (I Was Born, But…) (winner!)

– Tod Browning (Freaks)
– Ernst Lubitsch (Trouble in Paradise)
– Jean Renoir (Boudu Saved from Drowning)
– Howard Hawks (Scarface)
– Carl Th. Dreyer (Vampyr)

Best Cinematography

Rudolph Mate & Louis Nee (Vampyr) (winner!)

– Lee Garmes (Shanghai Express)
– Sol Polito (I Am A Fugitive From A Chain Gang)
– Charles Lang (A Farewell to Arms)
– Lee Garmes & L.W. O’Connell (Scarface)

Best Original Screenplay

Akira Fushimi & Geibei Ibushiya, from an idea by Yasujiro Ozu (I Was Born, But…) (winner!)

– Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby, S. J. Perelman & Will B. Johnstone (Horse Feathers)
– Robert Lord, Wilson Mizner & Joseph Jackson (One Way Passage)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Samson Raphaelson & Grover Jones (Trouble in Paradise, from the play A Becsületes megtaláló by Aladar Laszlo) (winner!)

– Howard J. Green & Brown Holmes (I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang, from the memoir I Am a Fugitive from a Georgia Chain Gang by Robert Elliott Burns)
– Ben Hecht, Seton I. Miller, John Lee Mahin & W. R. Burnett (Scarface, from the novel by Armitage Trail)
– Al Boasberg, Willis Goldbeck, Leon Gordon & Edgar Allan Woolf (Freaks, from the story “Spurs” by Tod Robbins)
– Jean Renoir & Albert Valentin (Boudu Saved from Drowning, from the play Boudu sauvé des eaux by René Fauchois)

Best Original Score

Wolfgang Zeller (Vampyr) (winner!)

– W. Franke Harling (Trouble in Paradise)
– Max Steiner (The Most Dangerous Game)
– Vincent Scotto (Fanny)
– Bernhard Kaun (I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

Richard Rodgers & Lorenz Hart (original songs); Nat W. Finston (music director) (Love Me Tonight) (winner!)

– Harry Ruby & Bert Kalmar (original songs); music direction uncredited (Horse Feathers)
– Harry Ruby & Bert Kalmar (original songs); Alfred Newman (music director) (The Kid from Spain)

Best Original Song

“Isn’t It Romantic”, Richard Rodgers & Lorenz Hart (Love Me Tonight) (winner!)

– “Mimi”, Richard Rodgers & Lorenz Hart (Love Me Tonight)
– “Whatever It Is, I’m Against It”, Harry Ruby & Bert Kalmar (Horse Feathers)
– “Everyone Says I Love You”, Harry Ruby & Bert Kalmar (Horse Feathers)
– “Now’s the Time to Buy Jippo”, Samuel Lerner & Sammy Timberg (Betty Boop, M.D.)
– “Trouble in Paradise”, W. Franke Harling & Leo Robin (Trouble in Paradise)

Best Sound

I Am A Fugitive From A Chain Gang (winner!)

– Doctor X
– Scarface
– Love Me Tonight
– A Farewell To Arms

Best Film Editing

Suzanne de Troeye (Boudu Saved from Drowning) (winner!)

– Edward Curtiss & Lewis Milestone (Scarface)
– Basil Wrangell (Freaks)
– Robert Shea (Love Me Tonight)
– Uncredited (Trouble in Paradise)

Best Art Direction

Cedric Gibbons (Grand Hotel) (winner!)

– Hans Dreier & Richard Kollorsz (Shanghai Express)
– Carroll Clark (The Most Dangerous Game)
– Willy Pogany (The Mummy)
– Hans Dreier (Trouble in Paradise)
– Hermann Warm (Vampyr)

Best Costume Design

Adrian (Grand Hotel) (winner!)

– Travis Banton (Shanghai Express)
– Travis Banton (Trouble in Paradise)
– Vera West (The Mummy)
– Hans Dreier & Roland Anderson (A Farewell to Arms)
– Mitchell Leisen (The Sign of the Cross)

Best Special Effects

The Mummy (winner!)

– Vampyr
– Doctor X
– Tarzan The Ape Man

Best Film Short


Minnie the Moocher (tied winner!)
The Music Box (tied winner!)

– Flowers and Trees
– Boop-Oop-A-Doop
– Betty Boop’s Bamboo Isle
– I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead You Rascal You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: