Fixing The Oscars – 1957

Best Picture: Non-English Language

THE WINNER: Wild Strawberries

– The Seventh Seal
– Nights of Cabiria (original winner)
– Pyaasa
– Throne of Blood
– Kanal

Best Picture: English Language

THE WINNER: Paths of Glory

– Sweet Smell of Success
– Twelve Angry Men (original nominee)
– The Bridge on the River Kwai (original winner)
– Peyton Place (original nominee)
– Witness for the Prosecution (original nominee)

Best Actor

THE WINNER: Victor Sjostrom (Wild Strawberries)

– Alec Guinness (The Bridge on the River Kwai) (original winner)
– Charles Laughton (Witness for the Prosecution) (original nominee)
– Van Heflin (3:10 to Yuma)
– Burt Lancaster (Sweet Smell of Success)
– Toshiro Mifune (Throne of Blood)

Best Actress

THE WINNER: Giulietta Masina (Nights of Cabiria)

– Joanne Woodward (The Three Faces of Eve) (original winner)
– Isuzu Yamada (Throne of Blood)
– Nargis (Mother India)
– Cyd Charisse (Silk Stockings)

Best Supporting Actor

THE WINNER: Tony Curtis (Sweet Smell of Success)

– Nial McGinnis (Night of the Demon)
– Gunnar Bjornstrand (The Seventh Seal)
– Sessue Hayakawa (The Bridge on the River Kwai) (original nominee)
– Lee J. Cobb (Twelve Angry Men)

Best Supporting Actress

THE WINNER: Ingrid Thulin (Wild Strawberries)

– Karuna Bannerjee (Aparajito)
– Hope Lange (Peyton Place) (original nominee)
– Felicia Farr (3:10 to Yuma)
– Bibi Andersson (Wild Strawberries)

Best Director

THE WINNER: Ingmar Bergman (The Seventh Seal)

– Akira Kurosawa (Throne of Blood)
– Ingmar Bergman (Wild Strawberries)
– Federico Fellini (Nights of Cabiria)
– Stanley Kubrick (Paths of Glory)

Best Screenplay

THE WINNER: Richard Matheson (The Incredible Shrinking Man)

– Ingmar Bergman (Wild Strawberries)
– Clifford Odets, Ernest Lehman (Sweet Smell of Success)
– Reginald Rose (Twelve Angry Men) (original nominee)
– Federico Fellini, Ennio Flaiani, Tullio Pinelli (Nights of Cabiria)

Best Cinematography

THE WINNER: Sergei Uresevsky (The Cranes are Flying)

– James Wong Howe (Sweet Smell of Success)
– Asakazu Nakai (Throne of Blood)
– Gunnar Fischer (The Seventh Seal)
– Gunnar Fischer (Wild Strawberries)
– Jerzy Lipman (Kanal)

Best Original Score

THE WINNER: Elmer Bernstein (Sweet Smell of Success)

– Franz Waxman (Peyton Place)
– Nino Rota (Nights of Cabiria)
– Malcolm Arnold (The Bridge on the River Kwai) (original winner)
– Ravi Shankar (Aparajito)
– Moisej Vainberg (The Cranes are Flying)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: