Fixing The Oscars 2.0 – 1942

Best Picture, English Language


Casablanca (winner!)

– Cat People
– Bambi
– The Magnificent Ambersons
– In Which We Serve

Best Picture, Non-English Language


Les Visiteurs du Soir (The Devil’s Envoys) (winner!)

– L’Assassin Habite… au 21 (The Murderer Lives at Number 21)
– Chichi Ariki (There Was a Father)

Best Actor

Humphrey Bogart (Casablanca) (winner!)

– James Cagney (Yankee Doodle Dandy)
– Gary Cooper (The Pride of the Yankees)
– Edward G. Robinson (Larceny, Inc.)
– Jack Benny (To Be or Not to Be)

Best Actress

Ingrid Bergman (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Bette Davis (Now, Voyager)
– Simone Simon (Cat People)
– Katharine Hepburn (Woman of the Year)
– Greer Garson (Mrs. Miniver)

Best Supporting Actor

Claude Rains (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Jules Berry (Les Visiteurs du Soir)
– Van Heflin (Johnny Eager)
– Rudy Vallee (The Palm Beach Story)
– Ronald Reagan (Kings Row)

Best Supporting Actress

Agnes Moorehead (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– Gladys Cooper (Now, Voyager)
– Celia Johnson (In Which We Serve)
– Teresa Wright (Mrs. Miniver)
– Diana Lynn (The Major and the Minor)

Best Director

Michael Curtiz (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Jacques Tourneur (Cat People)
– Ernst Lubitsch (To Be or Not to Be)
– Orson Welles (The Magnificent Ambersons)
– Sam Wood (Kings Row)

Best Cinematography

Stanley Cortez (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– Nicholas Musuraca (Cat People)
– Arthur Edeson (Casablanca)
– Rudolph Maté (The Pride of the Yankees)
– James Wong Howe (Kings Row)
– Sol Polito (Now, Voyager)

Best Original Screenplay

Melchior Lengyel & Edwin Justus Mayer (To Be or Not to Be) (winner!)

– DeWitt Bodeen (Cat People)
– Noel Coward (In Which We Serve)
– Preston Sturges (The Palm Beach Story)
– Jacques Prévert & Pierre Laroche (Les Visiteurs du soir)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Julius J. Epstein, Philip G. Epstein & Howard Koch (Casablanca, from the play Everybody Comes to Rick’s by Murray Burnett & Joan Alison) (winner!)

– Orson Welles (The Magnificent Ambersons, from the novel by Booth Tarkington)
– Charles Brackett & Billy Wilder (The Major and the Minor, from the story “Sunny Goes Home” by Fanny Kilbourne as adapted for the stage by Edward Childs Carpenter)
– Albert Maltz & W. R. Burnett (This Gun for Hire, from the novel by Graham Greene)
– John Dighton, Angus MacPhail & Diana Morgan (Went the Day Well?, from the story “The Lieutenant Died Last” by Graham Greene)

Best Original Score

Max Steiner (Now, Voyager) (winner!)

– Max Steiner (Casablanca)
– Miklós Rózsa (Jungle Book)
– Edward Plumb (Bambi)
– Erich Wolfgang Korngold (Kings Row)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

George M. Cohan (songs), Leo F. Forbstein (musical director) & Ray Heindorf (arranger) (Yankee Doodle Dandy) (winner!)

– Irving Berlin (songs), Robert Emmett Dolan (musical director) & Joseph Lilley (vocal arranger) (Holiday Inn)
– Jerome Kern & Johnny Mercer (songs), Leigh Harline (musical director) & Conrad Salinger (arranger) (You Were Never Lovelier)
– Leo F. Forbstein (musical director) & Hugo Friedhofer (arranger) (Casablanca)
– Harry Warren & Mack Gordon (songs) & Alfred Newman (musical director) (Orchestra Wives)

Best Original Song

“Love Is a Song”, Frank Churchill & Larry Morey (Bambi) (winner!)

– “White Christmas”, Irving Berlin (Holiday Inn)
– “I’ve Got a Gal in Kalamazoo”, Harry Warren & Mack Gordon (Orchestra Wives)
– “Saludos Amigos”, Ned Washington & Charles Wolcott (Saludos Amigos)
– “Der Fuehrer’s Face”, Oliver Wallace (Der Fuehrer’s Face)

Best Sound

Cat People (winner!)

– Yankee Doodle Dandy
– Bambi
– In Which We Serve
– Casablanca

Best Film Editing

Owen Marks (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Mark Robson (Cat People)
– Thelma Connell & David Lean (In Which We Serve)
– Dorothy Spencer (To Be or Not to Be)
– Otto Ludwig & Edward Curtiss (Saboteur)

Best Art Direction

Albert S. D’Agostino & Darrell Silvera (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– J. McMillan Johnson & Jack Okey (Jungle Book)
– Albert S. D’Agostino & Walter E. Keller (Cat People)
– Carl Jules Weyl & William Cameron Menzies (Kings Row)
– J. McMillan Johnson & Vincent Korda (To Be or Not to Be)

Best Costume Design

Claire Cramer et al (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– Edith Head (The Major and the Minor)
– Orry-Kelly (Now, Voyager)
– Georges Wakhévitch (Les Visiteurs du Soir)
– Milo Anderson (Yankee Doodle Dandy)

Best Special Effects

In Which We Serve (winner!)

– Reap the Wild Wind
– Jungle Book
– Flying Tigers
– One of Our Aircraft is Missing
– Saboteur

Best Film Short

The Dover Boys (winner!)

– Der Fuehrer’s Face
– The Blitz Wolf
– Battle of Midway
– Jukebox Jamboree


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: