Fixing the Oscars 2.0 – 1952

Best Picture, English Language

Singin’ in the Rain (winner!)

– High Noon
– The Importance of Being Earnest
– The Quiet Man
– Limelight

Best Picture, Non-English Language

Casque d’Or (winner!)

– Forbidden Games
– Umberto D.
– Ikiru
– The White Sheik

Best Actor

Takashi Shimura (Ikiru) (winner!)

– Gary Cooper (High Noon)
– Gene Kelly (Singin’ in the Rain)
– Carlo Battisti (Umberto D.)
– Laurence Olivier (Carrie)
– José Ferrer (Moulin Rouge)

Best Actress

Kinuyo Tanaka (The Life of Oharu) (winner!)

– Julie Harris (The Member of the Wedding)
– Brunella Bovo (The White Sheik)
– Barbara Stanywick (Clash By Night)
– Shirley Booth (Come Back, Little Sheeba)

Best Supporting Actor

Donald O’Connor (Singin’ in the Rain) (winner!)

– Alberto Sordi (The White Sheik)
– Anthony Quinn (Viva Zapata!)
– Miles Malleson (The Importance of Being Earnest)
– Buster Keaton (Limelight)
– Brandon De Wilde (The Member of the Wedding)

Best Supporting Actress

Jean Hagen (Singin’ in the Rain) (winner!)

– Katy Jurado (High Noon)
– Edith Evans (The Importance of Being Earnest)
– Ethel Waters (The Member of the Wedding)
– Claire Bloom (Limelight)

Best Director

Fred Zinnemann (High Noon) (winner!)

– Gene Kelly & Stanley Donen (Singin’ in the Rain)
– Akira Kurosawa (Ikiru)
– Kenji Mizoguchi (The Life of Oharu)
– Charles Chaplin (Limelight)
– John Ford (The Quiet Man)

Best Cinematography, Black and White

Floyd Crosby (High Noon) (winner!)

– Asaishi Nakai (Ikiru)
– Yoshima Kono & Yoshimi Hirano (The Life Of Oharu)
– Robert L. Surtees (The Bad and the Beautiful)
– Charles Lang (Sudden Fear)
– Anchise Brizzi & George Fanto & Alberto Fusi & Aldo Graziati & Oberdan Troiani (The Tragedy of Othello)

Best Cinematography, Colour

Harold Rosson (Singin’ In The Rain) (winner!)

– Winton C Hoch & Archie Stout (The Quiet Man)
– Otto Heller (The Crimson Pirate)
– Charles Rosher (Scaramouche)
– Irving Glassberg (The Bend of the River)
– Harry Stradling, Sr. (Hans Christian Andersen)

Best Original Screenplay

Betty Comden & Adolph Green (Singin’ in the Rain) (winner!)

– Cesare Zavattini (Umberto D)
– Shinobu Hashimoto, Akira Kurosawa & Hideo Oguni (Ikiru)
– Charles Chaplin (Limelight)
– Michelangelo Antonioni, Federico Fellini, Tullio Pinelli & Ennio Flaiano (The White Sheik)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Carl Foreman (High Noon, from the story “The Tin Star” by John W. Cunningham) (winner!)

– Jean Aurenche, Pierre Bost, François Boyer & René Clément (Forbidden Games, from the novel Les jeux inconnus by Boyer)
– Anthony Asquith (The Importance of Being Earnest, from the play by Oscar Wilde)
– Charles Schnee (The Bad and the Beautiful, from the story “Tribute to a Bad Man” by George Bradshaw)
– Michael Wilson (5 Fingers, from the book Der Fall Cicero by L. C. Moyzisch)

Best Original Score

Dimitri Tiomkin (High Noon) (winner!)

– Charles Chaplin, Ray Rasch & Larry Russell (Limelight)
– Nino Rota (The White Sheik)
– Miklos Rozsa (Ivanhoe)
– Victor Young (The Quiet Man)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

Lennie Hayton (musical director), Arthur Freed & Nacio Herb Brown (songwriters) (Singin’ in the Rain) (winner!)

– Walter Scharf (musical director) & Frank Loesser (original songwriter) (Hans Christian Andersen)
– Victor Young & Ned Washington (original songwriters), Henry Sullivan & John Murray Anderson (songwriters) (The Greatest Show on Earth)

Best Original Song

“High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me, Oh My Darlin’)”, Dimitri Tiomkin & Ned Washington (High Noon) (winner!)

– “Make Em Laugh”, Nacio Herb Brown & Arthur Freed (Singin’ in the Rain)
– “Wonderful Copenhagen”, Frank Loesser (Hans Christian Andersen)
– “Anywhere I Wander”, Frank Loesser (Hans Christian Andersen)
– “Inchworm”, Frank Loesser (Hans Christian Andersen)
– “Moses Supposes”, Roger Edens, Betty Comden & Adolph Green (Singin’ in the Rain)
– “The Ugly Duckling”, Frank Loesser (Hans Christian Andersen)

Best Sound

Singin’ in the Rain (winner!)

– High Noon
– The Quiet Man
– Ikiru
– The Narrow Margin
– The Sound Barrier

Best Film Editing

Andrienne Fazan (Singin’ in the Rain) (winner!)

– Elmo Williams (High Noon)
– Roger Dwyre (Forbidden Games)
– Jack Murray (The Quiet Man)
– Anne Bauchens (The Greatest Show on Earth)

Best Art Direction, Black and White

Luigi Scaccianoce & Alexandre Trauner (The Tragedy of Othello) (winner!)

– Edward Carfagno & Cedric Gibbons (The Bad and the Beautiful)
– Roland Anderson & Hal Pereira (Carrie)
– Jean d’Eaubonne & Robert Christidès (Le Plaisir)

Best Art Direction, Colour

Randall Duell & Cedric Gibbons (Singin’ in the Rain) (winner!)

– Paul Sheriff (Moulin Rouge!)
– Clavé & Richard Day (Hans Christian Andersen)
– Carmen Dillon (The Importance of Being Earnest)

Best Costume Design

Julia Squire (Moulin Rouge) (winner!)

– Walter Plunkett (Singin’ in the Rain)
– Beatrice Dawson (The Importance of Being Earnest)
– Edith Head (Carrie)
– Roger K. Furse (Ivanhoe)

Best Special Effects

The Greatest Show On Earth (winner!)

– Plymouth Adventure
– Moulin Rouge!

Best Film Short

Feed the Kitty (winner!)

– Neighbours
– Rabbit Seasoning
– Magical Maestro
– Johann Mouse
– A Phantasy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: