Fixing the Oscars 2.0 – 1933

Best Picture, English Language


Duck Soup (winner!)

– King Kong
– The Invisible Man
– 42nd Street
– Little Women
– Sons of the Desert

Best Picture, Non-English Language


Zero for Conduct (winner!)

– The Testament of Dr. Mabuse
– Liebelei
– Quatorze Julliet
– Ecstacy

Best Actor

Groucho Marx (Duck Soup) (winner!)

– Charles Laughton (The Private Life of Henry VIII.)
– Claude Rains (The Invisible Man)
– Paul Robeson (Emperor Jones)
– John Barrymore (Counsellor at Law)
– James Cagney (Footlight Parade)
– James Cagney (Lady Killer)
– Charles Laughton (Island of Lost Souls)
– Oliver Hardy (Sons of the Desert)
– Stan Laurel (Sons of the Desert)

Best Actress

Greta Garbo (Queen Christina) (winner!)

– Katharine Hepburn (Little Women)
– May Robson (Lady for a Day)
– Barbara Stanwyck (The Bitter Tea of General Yen)
– Fay Wray (King Kong)

Best Supporting Actor

Harpo Marx (Duck Soup) (winner!)

– Johnny Barrymore (Dinner at Eight)
– Rudolf Klein-Rogge (The Testament of Dr. Mabuse)
– George E. Stone (42nd Street)
– Chico Marx (Duck Soup)

Best Supporting Actress

Margaret Dumont (Duck Soup) (winner!)

– Una O’Connor (The Invisible Man)
– Jean Harlow (Dinner at Eight)
– Elsa Lanchester (The Private Life of Henry VIII.)
– Joan Blondell (Footlight Parade)

Best Director

James Whale (The Invisible Man) (winner!)

– Jean Vigo (Zero for Conduct)
– Leo McCarey (Duck Soup)
– Merion C. Cooper & Ernest B. Schoedsack (King Kong)
– Rouben Mamoulian (Queen Christina)

Best Cinematography

Sol Polito (42nd Street) (winner!)

– Arthur Edeson (The Invisible Man)
– Ed Linden & J.O. Taylor & V.L. Walker (King Kong)
– Boris Kaufman (Zero for Conduct)
– William H. Daniels (Queen Christina)

Best Original Screenplay

Bert Kalmar & Harry Ruby & Arthur Sheekman & Nat Perrin (Duck Soup) (winner!)

– James Creelman & Ruth Rose (King Kong)
– Mae West (I’m No Angel)
– G.H. Moresby-White & Sidney Gilliat & Emlyn Williams (Friday the Thirteenth)
– Margaret P. Levino & Salka Viertel & S.N. Behrman & H.M. Harwood (Queen Christina)

Best Adapted Screenplay

R.C. Sherriff (The Invisible Man, from the novel by H. G. Wells) (winner!)

– Fritz Lang & Thea von Harbou (The Testament of Dr. Mabuse, from characters created by Norbert Jacques)
– Frances Marion, Herman J. Mankiewicz & Donald Ogden Stewart (Dinner at Eight, from the play by George S. Kaufman & Edna Ferber)
– Ben Hecht (Design for Living, from the play by Noel Coward)
– Rian James & James Seymour (42nd Street, from the novel by Bradford Ropes)

Best Original Score

Max Steiner (King Kong) (winner!)

– Maurice Jaubert (Zero for Conduct)
– Herbert Stothart (Queen Christina)
– Max Steiner (Little Women)
– W. Franke Harling (The Bitter Tea of General Yen)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

Harry Warren & Al Dubin (original songs); Leo F. Forbstein (conductor) (42nd Street) (winner!)

– Harry Warren & Al Dubin (original songs); Leo F. Forbstein (musical director) (Gold Diggers of 1933)
– Sammy Fain, Irving Kahal, Harry Warren & Al Dubin (original songs); Leo F. Forbstein (orchestra director) (Footlight Parade)
– Harry Ruby & Bert Kalmar (original songs) (Duck Soup)
– Richard Rodgers & Lorenz Hart (original songs); Alfred Newman (musical director) (Hallelujah I’m a Bum)

Best Original Song

“Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf”, Frank Churchill & Ted Sears (Three Little Pigs) (winner!)

– “The Gold Diggers Song (We’re in the Money)”, Harry Warren & Al Dubin (Gold Diggers of 1933)
– “The Country’s Going to War”, Harry Ruby & Bert Kalmar (Duck Soup)
– “42nd Street”, Harry Warren & Al Dubin (42nd Street)
– “Shuffle Off to Buffalo”, Harry Warren & Al Dubin (42nd Street)
– “The Old Man of the Mountain”, Victor Young & Billy Hill & George Brown (The Old Man of the Mountain)

Best Sound

42nd Street (winner!)

– King Kong
– Footlight Parade
– Gold Diggers of 1933
– The Invisible Man

Best Film Editing

Ted Cheesman (King Kong) (winner!)

– Jean Vigo (Zero for Conduct)
– Thomas Pratt & Frank Ware (42nd Street)
– Ted J. Kent (The Invisible Man)
– Humberto Mauro (Ganga Bruta)

Best Art Direction

Carroll Clark & Al Herman (King Kong) (winner!)

– Alexander Toluboff (Queen Christina)
– William S. Darling (Cavalcade)
– Jack Okey (42nd Street)
– Anton Grot (Mystery of the Wax Museum)

Best Costume Design

Adrian (Queen Christina) (winner!)

– Orry-Kelly (42nd Street)
– John Armstrong (The Private Life of Henry VIII.)
– Walter Plunkett (Little Women)
– Earl Luck (Cavalcade)

Best Special Effects

King Kong (winner!)

– The Invisible Man
– The Testament of Dr. Mabuse
– Mystery of The Wax Museum
– Island of Lost Souls

Best Film Short

Las Hurdes (winner!)

– Three Little Pigs
– Snow-White
– The Night on Bald Mountain
– The Fatal Glass of Beer


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: