Fixing The Oscars – 1937

Best Picture: Non-English Language

THE WINNER: Grand Illusion (original nominee)

– Street Angel
– Pepe le Moko
– Drole de drame
– Humanity and Paper Balloons

Best Picture: English Language

THE WINNER: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

– The Awful Truth (original nominee)
– Stage Door (original nominee)
– Make Way for Tomorrow
– The Life of Emile Zola (original winner)

Best Actor

THE WINNER: Jean Gabin (Pepe le Moko)

– Jean Gabin (Grand Illusion)
– Cary Grant (The Awful Truth)
– Spencer Tracy (Captains Courageous) (original winner)
– Fredric March (A Star is Born) (original nominee)
– Zhao Dan (Street Angel)

Best Actress

THE WINNER: Katharine Hepburn (Stage Door)

– Irene Dunne (The Awful Truth) (original nominee)
– Luise Rainer (The Good Earth) (original winner)
– Barbara Stanwyck (Stella Dallas) (original nominee)
– Beulah Bondi (Make Way for Tomorrow)
-Zhou Xuan (Street Angel)

Best Supporting Actor

THE WINNER: Erich Von Stroheim (Grand Illusion)

– Jean-Louis Barrault (Drole de drame)
– Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. (The Prisoner of Zenda)
– Pierre Fresnay (Grand Illusion)
– Ralph Bellamy (The Awful Truth) (original nominee)

Best Supporting Actress

THE WINNER: Andrea Leeds (Stage Door) (original nominee)

– Claire Trevor (Dead End) (original nominee)
– Dita Parlo (Grand Illusion)
– Zhao Huishen (Street Angel)
– Anne Shirley (Stella Dallas) (original nominee)

Best Director

THE WINNER: Jean Renoir (Grand Illusion)

– Leo McCarey (The Awful Truth) (original winner)
– Gregory La Cava (Stage Door) (original nominee)
– Yuan Muzhi (Street Angel)
– David Hand, Walt Disney (Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs)

Best Screenplay

THE WINNER: Jean Renoir, Charles Spaak (Grand Illusion)

– Vina Delmar (The Awful Truth) (original nominee)
– Morrie Ryskind, Anthony Veiller (Stage Door) (original nominee)
– Vina Delmar (Make Way for Tomorrow)
– Ted Sears, Richard Creedon, Otto Englander, Dick Rickard, Earl Hurd, Merrill De Maris, Dorothy Ann Blank, Webb Smith (Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs)

Best Cinematography

THE WINNER: Karl Freund (The Good Earth) (original winner)

– Christian Matras (Grand Illusion)
– Joseph Walker (Lost Horizon)
– Gregg Toland (Dead End) (original nominee)
– Bert Glennon (The Hurricane)
– Jules Kruger (Pepe le Moko)
– Oliver T. Marsh (Maytime)

Best Original Score

THE WINNER: Dimitri Tiomkin (Lost Horizon) (original nominee)
THE WINNER: Leigh Harline, Paul Smith (Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs) (original nominee)

– Max Steiner (A Star Is Born)
– Joseph Kosma (Grand Illusion)
– Alfred Newman (The Hurricane)
– Herbert Stothart (The Good Earth)

Best Film Editing

WINNER: Marguerite Beaugé (Pepe le Moko)

– Gene Havlick, Gene Milford (Lost Horizon)
– Marguerite Renoir (La Grande Illusion)

Best Art-Direction

WINNER: Stephen Goosson (Lost Horizon)

– Jacques Krauss, Robert Vernay (Pepe le Moko)
– Cedric Gibbons (The Good Earth)
– Darrell Silvera, Van Nest Polglase (Shall We Dance)

Best Costume Design

WINNER: Irene (Shall We Dance)

– Milo Anderson, Ali Hubert (The Life of Emile Zola)
– Milo Anderson (The Prince and the Pauper)
– Ernest Dryden (The Prisioner of Zenda)

Best Song

WINNER: Heigh Ho from “Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs”; Frank Churchill (music), Larry Morey (lyrics)

– Some Day My Prince Will Come from “Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs”; Frank Churchill (music), Larry Morey (lyrics)
– Whistle While You Work from “Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs”; Frank Churchill (music), Larry Morey (lyrics)
– They Can’t Take That Away From Me from “Shall We Dance”; George Gershwin (music), Ira Gershwin (lyrics) (original nominee)
– Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off from “Shall We Dance”; George Gershwin (music), Ira Gershwin (lyrics) (original nominee)

Best Short

WINNER: The Old Mill (Disney/Wilfred Jackson)

– Clock Cleaners (Disney/Ben Sharpsteen)
– Popeye the Sailor Meets Ali Baba’s Forty Thieves (Paramount/Dave Fleischer)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: