Fixing The Oscars – 1933

Best Picture

WINNER: King Kong

– Duck Soup
– The Invisible Man
– Little Women (original nominee)
– The Bitter Tea of General Yen

Best Actor

WINNER: Charles Laughton (The Private Life of Henry VIII) (actual 1933 winner)

– Groucho Marx (Duck Soup)
– Claude Rains (The Invisible Man)
– Charles Laughton (The Island of Lost Souls)
– Paul Robeson (The Emperor Jones)
– Stan Laurel (Sons of the Desert)
– Oliver Hardy (Sons of the Desert)

Best Actress

WINNER: Greta Garbo (Queen Christina)

– Katharine Hepburn (Little Women)
– Barbara Stanwyck (The Bitter Tea of General Yen)
– Mae West (I’m No Angel)
– Fay Wray (King Kong)
– May Robson (Lady for a Day) (original nominee)

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Harpo Marx (Duck Soup)

– Chico Marx (Duck Soup)
– John Barrymore (Dinner at Eight)
– Bela Lugosi (Island of Lost Souls)
– Wallace Beery (Dinner at Eight)

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Margaret Dumont (Duck Soup)

– Elsa Lanchester (The Private Life of Henry VIII)
– Una O’Connor (The Invisible Man)
– Joan Bennett (Little Women)
– Jean Harlow (Dinner at Eight)

Best Director

WINNER: James Whale (The Invisible Man)

– Rouben Mamoulian (Queen Christina)
– George Cukor (Little Women)
– Merion C. Cooper and Ernest B. Schoedsack (King Kong)
– Rene Clair (Quatorze Juillet)
– Jean Vigo (Zero for Conduct)
– Leo McCarey (Duck Soup)

Best Screenplay

WINNER: R.C. Sherriff, Philip Wylie (The Invisible Man)

– Mae West (I’m No Angel)
– Frances Marion, Herman J. Mankiewicz (Dinner at Eight)
– Burt Kalmar, Harry Ruby, Arhtur Sheekman, Nat Perrin (Duck Soup)
– Merian C. Cooper, Edgar Wallace, James Ashmore Creelman, Ruth Rose (King Kong)

Best Cinematography

WINNER: Arthur Edeson (The Invisible Man)

– Edward Linden, Kenneth Peach, J.O. Taylor, Vernon L. Walker (King Kong)
– William H. Daniels (Queen Christina)
– Boris Kaufman (Zero for Conduct)
– Franz Planer (Liebelei)

Best Score, Comedy or Drama

WINNER: Max Steiner (King Kong)

– Maurice Jaubert (Zero for Conduct)
– Max Steiner (Little Women)
– Herbert Stothart (Queen Christina)

Best Short Film

WINNER: Three Little Pigs (Disney/Burt Gillett)

– Snow-White (Paramount/Dave Flesicher, w/Betty Boop, Koko & Bimbo)
– The Fatal Glass of Beer (Paramount/Clyde Bruckman, w/W.C. Fields)
– Las Hurdes/Land Without Bread (Luis Buñuel)
– Night on Bald Mountain (Une nuit sur le mont chauve)

Best Art-Direction

WINNER: Carroll Clark (production design), Alfred Herman, Van Nest Polglase (art-direction), Ray Moyer, Thomas Little (sets) (King Kong)

– Hans Dreier, Wiard Ihnen (Duck Soup)
– Anton Grot (Mystery of the Wax Museum)

Best Costume Design

WINNER: Adrian (Queen Christina)

– John Armstrong (The Private life of Henry VIII)
– *uncredited* (Duck Soup)
– Walter Plunkett (Little Women)
– Orry-Kelly (42nd Street)

Best Editing

WINNER: Ted Cheesman (King Kong)

– Jean Vigo (Zero for Conduct)
– Ted J. Kent (The Invisible Man)
– George Amy (Mystery of the Wax Museum)

Best Original Song

WINNER: Ted Sears – “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf” Frank Churchill” (Three Little Pigs)

– *uncredited* ‘Freedonia is going to War’ (Duck Soup)
– Harry Warren, Al Dubin – “The Gold Diggers Song (We’re in the Money)” (Gold Diggers of 1933)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: