Fixing the Oscars – 2008

Best Picture – English Language

Slumdog Millionaire WINNER!

– The Hurt Locker
– Gran Torino
– Food, Inc
– In Bruges

Best Picture – Non-Enlish Language

Vals Im Bashir (Waltz with Bashir) WINNER!

– Låt den rätte komma in (Let the Right One In)
– Entre les murs (The Class)
– Un conte de Noël (A Christmas Tale)
– Le silence de Lorna (Lorna’s Silence)

Best Actor

Sean Penn (Milk) WINNER!

– Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler)
– Michael Fassbender (Hunger)
– Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon)
– Colin Farrell (In Bruges)

Best Actress

Sally Hawkins (Happy-Go-Lucky) WINNER!

– Kate Winslet (The Reader)
– JeeJa Yanin (Chocolate)
– Arta Dobroshi (Lorna’s Silence)
– Angelina Jolie (Changeling)

Best Supporting Actor

Eddie Marsan (Happy-Go-Lucky) WINNER!

– Heath Ledger (The Dark Knight)
– Christian McKay (Me and Orson Welles)
– Robert Downey Jr. (Tropic Thunder)
– Jean-Paul Roussillon (A Christmas Tale)
– Jérémie Renier (Lorna’s Silence)

Best Supporting Actress

Penelope Cruz (Vicky Christina Barcelona) WINNER!

– Lina Leandersson (Let the Right One In)
– Marisa Tomei (The Wrestler)
– Laura Garcia (Leonera – Lion’s Den)
– Viola Davis (Doubt)
– Elsa Zylberstein (I’ve Loved You So Long)

Best Director

Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker) WINNER!

– Clint Eastwood (Gran Torino) WINNER!
– Danny Boyle (Slumdog Millionaire)
– Andrew Stanton (WALL-E)
– Thomas Alfredson (Let the Right One In)

Best Original Screenplay

Martin McDonagh (In Bruges) WINNER!

– Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter & Jim Reardon (WALL-E) WINNER!
– Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker)
– Jean-Pierre Dardenne & Luc Dardenne (Lorna’s Silence)
– Ari Folman (Waltz with Bashir)
– Courtney Hunt (Frozen River)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Simon Beaufoy (Slumdog Millionaire, from the novel Q & A by Vikas Swarup) WINNER!

– Peter Morgan (Frost/Nixon, from the play by Morgan)
– François Bégaudeau, Laurent Cantet & Robin Campillo (The Class, from the novel Entre les murs by Bégaudeau)
– John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let the Right One In, from the novel Låt den rätte komma in by Lindqvist)
– Ella Lemhagen (Patrik Age 1.5, from the play Patrik 1,5 by Michael Druker)
– David Hare (The Reader, from the novel Der Vorleser by Bernhard Schlink)
– Nina Paley (Sita Sings the Blues, from Ramayana by Valmiki)

Best Cinematography

Anthony Dod Mantle (Slumdog Millionaire) WINNER!

– Barry Ackroyd (The Hurt Locker)
– Tom Stern (Changeling)
– Wally Pfister (The Dark Knight)
– Claudio Miranda (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)

Best Original Score

A. R. Rahman (Slumdog Millionaire) WINNER!

– Alexandre Desplat (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)
– Thomas Newman (WALL-E)
– Marco Beltrami & Buck Sanders (The Hurt Locker)
– Tarô Iwashiro (Chi bi – Red Cliff)
– Johan Söderqvist (Let the Right One In)

Best Adapted/Song/Musical Score

Sita Sings the Blues (recordings by Annette Hanshaw selected by Nina Paley) WINNER!

– High School Musical 3: Senior Year (Jennifer Hammond & Fred Kron, music arrangers; original and adapted songs by Matthew Gerrard, Robbie Nevil, Jamie Houston, Adam Anders, Nikki Hassman, Andy Dodd, Adam Watts. Randy Petersen, Kevin Quinn et. al.)
– Mamma Mia! (Benny Andersson, Björn Ulvaeus & Stig Anderson, adapted songs; Martin Lowe, musical director; Becky Bentham, music supervisor; Göran Arnberg, orchestrator & vocal coach)
– Were the World Mine (Jessica Fogle, music director & original songs; Cory James Krueckeberg, original lyrics; Tim Sandusky, music producer)
– Cadillac Records (Terence Blanchard, music director/conductor; Bath Amy Rosenblatt, music supervisor; adapted songs by McKinley Morganfield, Elias McDaniel, Chester Burnett, Chuck Berry, Walter Jacobs, Harry Warren, Mack Gordon et. al.; original song “Once in a Lifetime” by Beyoncé Knowles, Amanda Ghost, Scott McFarnon, Ian Dench, James Dring & Jody Street)
– Slumdog Millionaire (A. R. Rahman, music producer & original songs; Maya Arulpragasam, original & adapted songs; Keith Strachan & Matthew Strachan, composers of “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?” theme music)
– Vicky Cristina Barcelona (music direction uncredited; songs & compositions by Giulia Tellarini, Maik Alemany, Alejandro Mazzoni, Jens Neumaier, Juan Serrano, Isaac Albéniz et. al.)

Best Original Song

“Jai Ho”, A. R. Rahman & Gulzar (Slumdog Millionaire) WINNER!

– “O Saya”, A. R. Rahman & Maya Arulpragasam (Slumdog Millionaire)
– “Down to Earth”, Peter Gabriel & Thomas Newman (WALL-E)
– “Gake no ue no Ponyo” (“Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea”), Joe Hisaishi, Katsuya Kondô & Hayao Miyazaki (Ponyo)
– “Gran Torino”, Clint Eastwood, Jamie Cullum, Kyle Eastwood & Michael Stevens (Gran Torino)
– “Loin de Paname”, Reinhardt Wagner & Frank Thomas (Faoubourg 36 – Paris 36)
– “Walk Away”, Jamie Houston (High School Musical 3: Senior Year)

Best Sound

The Hurt Locker WINNER!

– Slumdog Millionaire
– The Dark Knight
– La mujer sin cabeza (The Headless Woman)

Best Editing

Slumdog Millionaire WINNER!

– The Hurt Locker
– Frost/Nixon
– Let the Right One In
– Milk

Best Art Direction

Kelly Curley, Michele Laliberte, Randy Moore, Scott Plauche, Tom Reta (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button) WINNER!
Mark Bartholomew, James Hambidge, Craig Jackson, Kevin Kavanaugh, Simon Lamont, Steven Lawrence, Naaman Marshall (The Dark Knight) WINNER!

– Adam Stockhausen, (Synecdoche, New York)
– Lino Fiorito (production design), Alessandra Mura (set decoration) (Il Divo)
– Patrick M. Sullivan Jr., (Changeling)
– Anthony Caron-Delion, Peter Francis, John Frankish, Paul Laugier, Csaba Stork, Mark Swain, Judit Varga (Hellboy II: The Golden Army)
– Alexis McKenzie Main, Jean-Yves Rabier, Matthieu Beutter (Paris 36)

Best Costume Design

Deborah Hopper (Changeling) WINNER!

– Michael O’Connor (The Duchess)
– Catherine Martin, (Australia)
– Timmy Yip, (Red Cliff)
– Lindy Hemming, (The Dark Knight)
– Madeline Fontaine, (Séraphine)
– Albert Wolsky, (Revolutionary Road)

Best Special Effects

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button WINNER!

– Iron Man
– The Dark Knight
– Hellboy II: The Golden Army
– Martyrs

Best Short Film

Presto WINNER!

– The House of Small Cubes
– Smile Pinki
– Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty
– This Way Up

Special Achievement Award

Panna Ritikri, for the fight coordination in Chocolate WINNER!

– Gerald Quist, for the make-up in Tropic Thunder

3 Responses to “Fixing the Oscars – 2008”

  1. Mythical Monkey Says:

    How did Sally Hawkins fly under the Oscar radar in 2008? Personally, it was my favorite performance of the year.

  2. Australia pictures Says:

    Australia news…

    […]Fixing the Oscars – 2008 « Top Movies[…]…

  3. boudu Says:

    Sally Hawkins gave a great performance of a not-so-likeable character. Personally, I loved that Jeeja Yanin got a nomination.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: