Archive for the ‘1942’ Category

Fixing the Oscars – 1942

January 16, 2008

Best Picture

THE WINNER: Casablanca (actual 1943 winner)

– The Magnificent Ambersons (original nominee)
– Sullivan’s Travels
– Mrs. Miniver (actual 1942 winner)
– The Children Are Watching Us

Best Actor

THE WINNER: Humphrey Bogart (Casablanca) (original 1943 nominee)

– James Cagney (Yankee Doodle Dandy) (actual 1942 winner)
– Jack Benny (To Be or Not To Be)
– Luciano De Ambrosis (The Children Are Watching Us)
– Joel McCrea (Sullivan’s Travels)
– Edward G. Robinson (Larceny, Inc.)
– Joseph Cotten (The Magnificent Ambersons)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

THE WINNER: Bette Davis (Now, Voyager) (original nominee)

– Ingrid Bergman (Casablanca)
– Greer Garson (Mrs. Miniver) (actual 1942 winner)
– Katharine Hepburn (Woman of the Year) (original nominee)
– Carole Lombard (To Be or Not To Be)
– Claudette Colbert (The Palm Beach Story)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

THE WINNER: Claude Rains (Casablanca) (original nominee)

– Rudy Vallee (The Palm Beach Story)
– Emilio Cigoli (The Children Are Watching Us)
– Van Heflin (Johnny Eager) (actual 1942 winner)
– Laird Cregar (The Black Swan)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

THE WINNER: Agnes Moorehead (The Magnificent Ambersons) (original nominee)

– Mary Astor (The Palm Beach Story)
– Gladys Cooper (Now Voyager) (original nominee)
– Teresa Wright (Mrs. Miniver) (actual 1942 winner)
– Isa Pola (The Children Are Watching Us)

Best Director

THE WINNER: Michael Curtiz (Casablanca) (actual 1943 winner)

– Orson Welles (The Magnificent Ambersons)
– Preston Sturges (Sullivan’s Travels)
– Ernst Lubitsch (To Be or Not To Be)
– William Wyler (Mrs. Miniver) (actual 1942 winner)
– Vittorio De Sica (The Children Are Watching Us)

Best Screenplay

THE WINNER: Julius J. Epstein, Philip G. Epstein, Howard Koch (Casablanca) (actual 1943 winner)

– Preston Sturges (Sullivan’s Travels)
– Preston Sturges (The Palm Beach Story)
– Billy Wilder, Charles Brackett (The Major and the Minor)

Best Cinematography

THE WINNER: Stanley Cortez (The Magnificent Ambersons) (original nominee)

– Arthur Edeson (Casablanca) (original nominee)
– Leon Shamroy (The Black Swan) (actual 1942 Color winner)
– Joseph Ruttenberg (Mrs. Miniver) (actual 1942 B&W winner)
– Nicholas Musuraca (Cat People)

Best Music, Scoring of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture

THE WINNER: Max Steiner (Now, Voyager) (actual 1942 winner)

– Max Steiner (Casablanca) (original nominee)
– Miklos Rozsa (Jungle Book) (original nominee)
– Frank Churchill, Edward H. Plumb (Bambi) (original nominee)

Fixing The Oscars 2.0 – 1942

October 21, 2007

Best Picture, English Language


Casablanca (winner!)

– Cat People
– Bambi
– The Magnificent Ambersons
– In Which We Serve

Best Picture, Non-English Language


Les Visiteurs du Soir (The Devil’s Envoys) (winner!)

– L’Assassin Habite… au 21 (The Murderer Lives at Number 21)
– Chichi Ariki (There Was a Father)

Best Actor

Humphrey Bogart (Casablanca) (winner!)

– James Cagney (Yankee Doodle Dandy)
– Gary Cooper (The Pride of the Yankees)
– Edward G. Robinson (Larceny, Inc.)
– Jack Benny (To Be or Not to Be)

Best Actress

Ingrid Bergman (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Bette Davis (Now, Voyager)
– Simone Simon (Cat People)
– Katharine Hepburn (Woman of the Year)
– Greer Garson (Mrs. Miniver)

Best Supporting Actor

Claude Rains (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Jules Berry (Les Visiteurs du Soir)
– Van Heflin (Johnny Eager)
– Rudy Vallee (The Palm Beach Story)
– Ronald Reagan (Kings Row)

Best Supporting Actress

Agnes Moorehead (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– Gladys Cooper (Now, Voyager)
– Celia Johnson (In Which We Serve)
– Teresa Wright (Mrs. Miniver)
– Diana Lynn (The Major and the Minor)

Best Director

Michael Curtiz (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Jacques Tourneur (Cat People)
– Ernst Lubitsch (To Be or Not to Be)
– Orson Welles (The Magnificent Ambersons)
– Sam Wood (Kings Row)

Best Cinematography

Stanley Cortez (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– Nicholas Musuraca (Cat People)
– Arthur Edeson (Casablanca)
– Rudolph Maté (The Pride of the Yankees)
– James Wong Howe (Kings Row)
– Sol Polito (Now, Voyager)

Best Original Screenplay

Melchior Lengyel & Edwin Justus Mayer (To Be or Not to Be) (winner!)

– DeWitt Bodeen (Cat People)
– Noel Coward (In Which We Serve)
– Preston Sturges (The Palm Beach Story)
– Jacques Prévert & Pierre Laroche (Les Visiteurs du soir)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Julius J. Epstein, Philip G. Epstein & Howard Koch (Casablanca, from the play Everybody Comes to Rick’s by Murray Burnett & Joan Alison) (winner!)

– Orson Welles (The Magnificent Ambersons, from the novel by Booth Tarkington)
– Charles Brackett & Billy Wilder (The Major and the Minor, from the story “Sunny Goes Home” by Fanny Kilbourne as adapted for the stage by Edward Childs Carpenter)
– Albert Maltz & W. R. Burnett (This Gun for Hire, from the novel by Graham Greene)
– John Dighton, Angus MacPhail & Diana Morgan (Went the Day Well?, from the story “The Lieutenant Died Last” by Graham Greene)

Best Original Score

Max Steiner (Now, Voyager) (winner!)

– Max Steiner (Casablanca)
– Miklós Rózsa (Jungle Book)
– Edward Plumb (Bambi)
– Erich Wolfgang Korngold (Kings Row)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

George M. Cohan (songs), Leo F. Forbstein (musical director) & Ray Heindorf (arranger) (Yankee Doodle Dandy) (winner!)

– Irving Berlin (songs), Robert Emmett Dolan (musical director) & Joseph Lilley (vocal arranger) (Holiday Inn)
– Jerome Kern & Johnny Mercer (songs), Leigh Harline (musical director) & Conrad Salinger (arranger) (You Were Never Lovelier)
– Leo F. Forbstein (musical director) & Hugo Friedhofer (arranger) (Casablanca)
– Harry Warren & Mack Gordon (songs) & Alfred Newman (musical director) (Orchestra Wives)

Best Original Song

“Love Is a Song”, Frank Churchill & Larry Morey (Bambi) (winner!)

– “White Christmas”, Irving Berlin (Holiday Inn)
– “I’ve Got a Gal in Kalamazoo”, Harry Warren & Mack Gordon (Orchestra Wives)
– “Saludos Amigos”, Ned Washington & Charles Wolcott (Saludos Amigos)
– “Der Fuehrer’s Face”, Oliver Wallace (Der Fuehrer’s Face)

Best Sound

Cat People (winner!)

– Yankee Doodle Dandy
– Bambi
– In Which We Serve
– Casablanca

Best Film Editing

Owen Marks (Casablanca) (winner!)

– Mark Robson (Cat People)
– Thelma Connell & David Lean (In Which We Serve)
– Dorothy Spencer (To Be or Not to Be)
– Otto Ludwig & Edward Curtiss (Saboteur)

Best Art Direction

Albert S. D’Agostino & Darrell Silvera (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– J. McMillan Johnson & Jack Okey (Jungle Book)
– Albert S. D’Agostino & Walter E. Keller (Cat People)
– Carl Jules Weyl & William Cameron Menzies (Kings Row)
– J. McMillan Johnson & Vincent Korda (To Be or Not to Be)

Best Costume Design

Claire Cramer et al (The Magnificent Ambersons) (winner!)

– Edith Head (The Major and the Minor)
– Orry-Kelly (Now, Voyager)
– Georges Wakhévitch (Les Visiteurs du Soir)
– Milo Anderson (Yankee Doodle Dandy)

Best Special Effects

In Which We Serve (winner!)

– Reap the Wild Wind
– Jungle Book
– Flying Tigers
– One of Our Aircraft is Missing
– Saboteur

Best Film Short

The Dover Boys (winner!)

– Der Fuehrer’s Face
– The Blitz Wolf
– Battle of Midway
– Jukebox Jamboree