Fixing the Oscars 2.0 – 1975

Best Picture, English Language

Nashville (winner!)

– Jaws
– Barry Lyndon
– Dog Day Afternoon
– One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Best Picture, Non-English Language

The Story of Adele H. (winner!)

– Dersu Uzala
– Seven Beauties
– The Mirror
– Salò

Best Actor

Jack Nicholson (One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest) (winner!)

– Al Pacino (Dog Day Afternoon)
– Giancarlo Giannini (Seven Beauties)
– Maksim Munzuk (Dersu Uzala)
– Tim Curry (The Rocky Horror Picture Show)

Best Actress

Isabelle Adjani (The Story of Adele H.) (winner!)

– Angela Winkler (The Lost Honor of Katharina Blum)
– Katharine Ross (The Stepford Wives)
– Carol Kane (Hester Street)
– Delphine Seyrig (India Song)
– Monique van de Ven (Katie Tippel)

Best Supporting Actor

John Cazale (Dog Day Afternoon) (winner!)

– Brad Dourif (One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
– Robert Shaw (Jaws)
– Richard Dreyfuss (Jaws)
– Jean Rochefort (Let Joy Reign Supreme)
– Henry Gibson (Nashville)

Best Supporting Actress

Louise Fletcher (One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest) (winner!)

– Lily Tomlin (Nashville)
– Rachel Roberts (Picnic at Hanging Rock)
– Ronee Blakley (Nashville)
– Gwen Welles (Nashville)

Best Director

Robert Altman (Nashville) (winner!)

– Milos Forman (One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
– Steven Spielberg (Jaws)
– Stanley Kubrick (Barry Lyndon)
– Andrei Tarkovsky (The Mirror)

Best Cinematography

John Alcott (Barry Lyndon) (winner!)

– Russell Boyd (Picnic at Hanging Rock)
– Luciano Tovoli (The Passenger)
– Luigi Kuveiller (Profondo Rosso)
– Georgy Rerberg (The Mirror)

Best Original Screenplay

Joan Tewkesbury (Nashville) (winner!)

– Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones & Michael Palin (Monty Python and the Holy Grail)
– Lina Wertmüller (Seven Beauties)
– David Cronenberg (Shivers)
– Jerry Belson (Smile)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Lawrence Hauben & Bo Goldman (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, from the novel by Ken Kesey as adapted for the stage by Dale Wasserman) (winner!)

– Frank Pierson (Dog Day Afternoon, from the magazine article “The Boys in the Bank” by P. F. Kluge)
– Jean Gruault, Frances V. Guille, Suzanne Schiffman & François Truffaut (The Story of Adele H., from the diary of Adèle Hugo)
– Peter Benchley & Carl Gottlieb (Jaws, from the novel by Benchley)
– Stanley Kubrick (Barry Lyndon, from the novel The Luck of Barry Lyndon by William Makepeace Thackeray)

Best Original Score

John Williams (Jaws) (winner!)

– Giorgio Gaslini & Goblin (Profondo Rosso)
– Maurice Jarre (The Man Who Would Be King)
– Jack Nitzsche (One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
– Jerry Goldsmith (The Wind and the Lion)

Best Adapted / Song / Musical Score

Richard Baskin (music supervisor–original songs by Baskin et. al.) (Nashville) (winner!)

– Leonard Rosenman (music adaptor) (Barry Lyndon)
– Richard O’Brien (adapted songs); Richard Hartley (musical director) (The Rocky Horror Picture Show)
– Pete Townshend (musical director, adapted and original songs and concepts) (Tommy)
– R. D. Burman & Sahir Ludhianvi (original songs) (Deewaar)
– John Kander & Fred Ebb (original songs); Peter Matz (musical director) (Funny Lady)

Best Original Song

“200 Years”, Richard Baskin & Henry Gibson (Nashville) (winner!)

– “I’m Easy”, Keith Carradine (Nashville)
– “It Don’t Worry Me”, Keith Carradine (Nashville)
– “How Lucky Can You Get”, John Kander & Fred Ebb (Funny Lady)
– “Mehbooba Mehbooba”, R.D. Burman (Sholay)

Best Sound

Nashville (winner!)

– Jaws
– Picnic At Hanging Rock
– Profondo Rosso
– Salò

Best Film Editing

Verna H. Fields (Jaws) (winner!)

– Dede Allen (Dog Day Afternoon)
– Dennis Hill & Sidney Levin (Nashville)
– Fredric Steinkamp & Don Guidice (Three Days of the Condor)
– Lyudmila Feiginova (The Mirror)

Best Art Direction

Roy Walker (Barry Lyndon) (winner!)

– Dante Ferretti & Osvaldo Desideri (Salò)
– Tony Inglis (The Man Who Would Be King)
– Terry Ackland-Snow (The Rocky Horror Picture Show)
– Pierre Guffroy (Let Joy Reign Supreme)

Best Costume Design

Milena Canonero & Ulla-Britt Söderlund (Barry Lyndon) (winner!)

– Judith Dorsman (Picnic at Hanging Rock)
– Jacqueline Guyot (The Story of Adele H.)
– John Wilson-Apperson & Edith Head (The Man Who Would Be King)
– Gladys de Segonzac (Love and Death)

Best Special Effects

Jaws (winner!)

– The Hindenburg
– Profondo Rosso
– Shivers
– Black Moon

Best Film Short

Hedgehog in the Fog (winner!)

– Great
– Seasons of the Year
– Sisyphus
– Water Wrackets

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: